Torquay Bowls Club Inc.

Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting – Monday 16th May 2022

In accordance with Rule 11 of the Constitution, the Board conducted the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Torquay Bowls Club Inc at **7.00 PM on Monday 16th May 2022.**

To be eligible to vote at the meeting, you must be a financial Affiliated member as at 4 PM on Monday 9th May.

The Annual Report including Financial and Auditor reports is on the club website via the link on the home page. An attendee can apply to the Secretary for a copy after the meeting.

Order of Business

Members will be registered as in attendance when signing the Attendance sheet at the meeting.

Welcome:

Vale:

2021: Laurel Newton (aged 92); Murray Monteith (aged 88); Bill McLelland; John Mayne (aged 83).

2022: Unis Boak (aged 89) of Yarrawonga, past Club Champion. Colin Bailey A minute's silence was observed

- 2. **Apologies**: Rod and Shani Hill, Geoff and Gail Crane, Claire Crameri, Janice Pekin, Karen Harrington, Alan Murphy, John Musco, Maureen Gribble, Marie O'Donnell, David McKenzie, Angela Clarke, Daryl Clutterbuck
- 3. **Confirmation of the minutes of the previous AGM** (2021 Minutes available on the TBC website)

Moved: Wayne Canning **Seconded:** Helen Williams - that the 2021 AGM minutes be accepted - Carried

- 4. Business arising from these minutes: Nil
- 5. Correspondence: Nil
- 6. **Chairperson's report**: [Refer to Annual Report]

Moved: Geoff Grigg Seconded: Mick Slater - that the Chairperson's and all Annual reports be accepted and approved - Carried

7. **Treasurer's report and presentation of audited financial statement**: [Refer to Annual Report]

Moved: Rob Wilson **Seconded**: John Forbes - that the Treasurer's report be accepted and adopted - Carried

8. **As required by Regulation 15**, that this meeting approve Schedule 1*, Regulation 15: Form 1 -Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012 Sections 94(2)(b), 97(2)(b) and 100(2)(b).[*The signed schedule will be filed with the AGM minutes – signed by Rob Wilson and Peter Hirth)

(This is a signed document indicating that Annual Statements give a true and fair view of the financial performance and position of an incorporated association)

Moved: Rob Wilson **Seconded:** Alan Sampson- that the schedule be approved - Carried

9. Club Recognition - Distinguished Service Award/s and/or Life Membership

Award/s: – Voting on life membership approval was conducted at the meeting by a show of hands. Voting for each nomination was unanimous in favour

Distinguished Service Award: Bill Dobson

Life Memberships – Rosemary Canning, Gwenda Grigg and John Forbes

Each Life Member was congratulated and presented with a badge by a member of the Board of Management

Each recipient responded accordingly

10. **Election and confirmation of Office Bearers for 2022/2023**: (Returning Officer conducted election and confirmed Officer Bearers for 2022/2023)

Moved: Peter Hirth **Seconded:** Tony Gall - that the elected office bearers be accepted and approved – Carried

Rob Wilson thanked Gary Banks for his contribution to the Board of Management and in particular his leadership through the last couple of tough years. Joe Issell thanked Lance Avent for his dedicated service to the club and welcomed Rob Aitken and Julie McNamara to the Board of Management

- 11. **Recognition of Club Champions for 2021/2022:** (as listed in the agenda and AGM report)
- 12. Handover to Incoming Chairperson 2022/2023:

Gary Banks invited Peter Anderson to take up his position as Chair of The Torquay Bowls Club Board of Management

13. Appointment of Auditor for 2022/23:

Moved: Rob Wilson **Seconded**: Gwenda Grigg - that Elaine Van Der Meer CPA be appointed Auditor for 2022/23 - Carried

- 14. Date of next meeting: Monday 1st May, 2023
- 15. **Close: -** Meeting closed at 7.55pm

16. **General Business**: Midweek Pennant Bowls starts 27th September Saturday Pennant starts 2nd October

<u>2022 Torquay Bowls Club Inc – Results of Nominations/Elections</u>

Board Of Management:

Chairperson:
Treasurer:
Rob Wilson
Facilities Director:
Rob Aitken
Marketing Director:
Scott Holmes
Membership Director:
Julie McNamara

Bowls Committee:

Secretary: Brendan Gaudion
Pennant Coordinator: Wayne Chaffey
Tournaments/Championships Coord: Karen Harrington

<u>Saturday Pennant Subcommittee:</u> <u>Tuesday Pennant Subcommittee:</u>

(2 Positions for 2 years)
Peter Slater
Val Oswald

(2 positions for 2 years)
Sandra Skene
Effie Wake

Archives/Historian: Wayne Chaffey

FLAME Group:Greens Manager:
Administration Support:
Philip Price Gail Crane
Ron Sommerville (ongoing)
Rosemary Canning (ongoing)

Fixture Book Manager: Janice Pekin

On behalf of the outgoing Board of Management, thank you to those members who have nominated.

Peter Hirth - Secretary

Recognition of Club Champions for 2021/22:

Club Championship Results - 2021/2022

Women's Singles: Winner – Karen Harrington

Runner Up – Angela Clarke

Men's Singles: Winner – Gary Banks

Runner Up – Brett Irvine

Men's Veterans: Winner – Alan Sampson

Runner Up – Paul French

Women's Veterans: Winner – Ro Porter

Runner Up – Gill Pritchard

100-Up H'Cap: Winner – Brendan Gaudion

Runner Up – Shane Hicks

Minor Singles: Winner – Peter Hirth

Runner Up – David Pritchard

Women's Pairs: Winners – Gill Pritchard / Karen Wiener (Skip)

Runners Up - Corry Hooiveld / Sandra Skene (Skip)

Men's Pairs: Winners – Gary Banks / Alan Sampson (Skip)

Runners Up – Tim Jenkinson / Daryl Kitchin (Skip)

Mixed Pairs: Winners – Sandra Skene / Alan Sampson

Runners Up - Effie Wake / Michael Wake

Triples: Winners – Corry Hooiveld / Kas Harrington / Alan Sampson

Runners Up – Lindsay Harrington / Rob Aitken / Michael Wake

Number of players entered in the above: 267

Regional Event Results - 2021/22:

<u>Champion of Champions:</u> Karen Harrington & Gary Banks (Singles); Alan Sampson & Ro Porter (Veterans) represented the club.

GBR Men's Veterans Champion of Champions:

Winner: Alan Sampson

GBR State Women's 60 & Over Pairs:

Winners: Karen Wiener & Karen Harrington (s)

Lou Crameri Medal (most consistent Saturday Pennant bowler) winner: Daryl Kitchin

Most Valuable Player Saturday Pennant:

Division 1: Joe Issell

Division 3: Peter Anderson

Division 4: Wayne Chaffey

Division 6: Ray Hannan

Division 7: Shani Hill

Division 10: Michelle Issell

Most Valuable Player Midweek Pennant:

Division 1: Sandra Skene Division 2: Angela Clarke
Division 4: John Musco Division 6: Brendan Gaudion

Division 7: Katelyn Beamish

Twilight Bowls Championships: 2021/22

<u>Wednesday Night Winners:</u>
Division 1 Cement Heads

Thursday Night Winners:
Division 1 Tradies Not Ladies

Division 2 The Fireballs Division 2 Incredibowls
Division 3 Chalkies Division 3 Sporange