Torquay Bowls Club Inc.

2023 Annual General Meeting – Monday 1st May 2023

Minutes

In accordance with Rule 11 of the Constitution, the Board conducted the 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Torquay Bowls Club Inc at **7.00 PM on Monday 1st May 2023.**

To be eligible to vote at the meeting, you must be a financial Affiliated member as at 4 PM on Monday 24th April.

The Annual Report including Financial and Auditor reports are available on the club website via the link on the home page. An attendee can apply to the Secretary for a copy after the meeting.

Order of Business

Members were registered as in attendance when signing the Attendance sheet at the meeting.

- 1. Welcome:
- 2. Vale:

2022: Colin Bailey (aged 94); Clive Rosser (aged 81); William (Bill) Ryan (aged 85); William (Bill) Fuller (aged 88); Glenys Callaway; Margaret Tyack (aged 94); John Goodwin (aged 91); George Oxley (aged 97).

2023: Wilma Slaven (aged 95); Margaret Griffiths; Anthony (Tony) Hall (aged 78).

A minute's silence was observed

- 3. **Apologies:** Karen Harrington, Peter Anderson, Wayne Chaffey, Julie McNamara, Steve Marvilla, Gail and Geoff Crane, Clare Crameri, Alan Murphy, Janice Pekin
- 4. **Confirmation of the minutes of the previous AGM** (2022 Minutes available on the TBC website) **Moved**: Geoff Grigg **Seconded:** Gill Pritchard - that the 2022 AGM minutes be accepted – Carried
- 5. Business arising from these minutes: Nil
- 6. Correspondence: Nil
- Chairperson's report: [Refer to Annual Report]
 Moved: Peter Barnes Seconded: Hazel Price that the Chairman's and all Annual reports be accepted and approved Carried
- Treasurer's report and presentation of audited financial statement: [Refer to Annual Report]
 Moved: Gary Banks Seconded: Ron Sommerville that the Treasurer's report be accepted and adopted Carried
- 9. As required by Regulation 15, that this meeting approve Schedule 1*, Regulation 15: Form 1 Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012 Sections 94(2)(b), 97(2)(b) and 100(2)(b).[*The signed schedule will be filed with the AGM minutes signed by Joe Issell and Peter Hirth (This is a signed document indicating that Annual Statements give a true and fair view of the financial performance and position of an incorporated association)
 Moved: Wayne Canning Seconded: Tony Gall that the schedule be approved Carried
- 10. Club Recognition Distinguished Service Award/s and/or Life Membership Award/s: NIL

- Election and confirmation of Office Bearers for 2023/2024: (Returning Officer to conduct election and confirm Officer Bearers for 2023/2024)
 Moved: Michelle Issell Seconded: Wally Wiener - that the elected office bearers be accepted and approved - Carried
- 12. Recognition of Club Champions for 2022/2023: (as listed in the agenda and AGM report)
- 13. Welcome to new Office-bearers 2023/2024: Thanks to outgoing Board members. Welcome to incoming Board and new Office-bearers.
- 14. Appointment of Auditor for 2023/24:
 Moved: Gary Banks Seconded: Gwenda Grigg that Elaine Van Der Meer be appointed Auditor for 2023/24 – Carried
- 15. Date of next meeting: Monday 6th May, 2024
- 16. Meeting Closed: 7.30 pm
- 17. **General Business**: Midweek Pennant starts 31st October. Saturday Pennant starts 4th November.

Torquay Bowls Club Inc – 2023 Results of Nominations/Elections

Board Of Management:

Secretary: Treasurer: Business Director:

Bowls Committee:

President: Twilight Coordinator: Social Bowls Coordinator: Bowls Services Coordinator:

Saturday Pennant Subcommittee:

(3 Positions for 2 years) Hazel Price Michael Wake Paul French Mark Coombs Steve Marvilla Daryl Clutterbuck

Joe Issell Allannah Rodrigues Bernie Convery Margaret Hirth

Midweek Pennant Subcommittee:

(3 positions for 2 years) Corry Hooiveld Elaine Rosser Wally Wiener

FLAME group:	Angela Clarke
Fixture Book Manager:	Janice Pekin
Volunteers for Gardening:	Vacant
Admin Support (Bowls Comm):	Vacant
Greens & Yard Maintenance:	Wayne Broad; David McKenzie; Peter Hirth
Vice Chair/Strategy Director (appointed):	Vacant
Centenary Director (appointed):	Vacant

On behalf of the outgoing Board of Management, thank you to those members who have nominated. Peter Hirth - Secretary

Recognition of Club Champions for 2022/23:

Club Championship Results – 2022/2023

Women's Singles:	Winner – Karen Harrington	
	Runner Up – Sandra Skene	
Men's Singles:	Winner – Alan Sampson	
	Runner Up – Daryl Kitchin	
Men's Veterans:	Winner – Vin O'Flaherty	
	Runner Up – Alan Sampson	
Women's Veterans:	Winner – Ro Porter	
	Runner Up – Elaine Rosser	
100-Up H'Cap:	Winner – Rob Milesi	
	Runner Up – Ro Porter	
Minor Singles:	Winner – Jade Morvell	
	Runner Up – Gordon Stevenson	
Women's Pairs:	Winners – Corry Hooiveld/Sandra Skene (Skip)	
	Runners Up – Gill Pritchard/Karen Wiener (Skip)	
Men's Pairs:	Winners – Tim Jenkinson/Daryl Kitchin (Skip)	
	Runners Up – Brian Calthorpe/Paul French (Skip)	
Mixed Pairs:	Winners – Eileen Williams/Brett Irvine	
	Runners Up – Karen Wiener/Wally Wiener	
Triples:	Winners – Peter Forbes/Dan Tudor/Russell Symons	
	Runners Up – Geoff Grigg/Vin O'Flaherty/Don Mariager	
Number of players entered in the above: $245 - (165 \text{ men } 8, 80 \text{ women})$		

Number of players entered in the above: 245 - (165 men & 80 women)

Regional Event Results – 2022/23:

<u>Champion of Champions</u>: Karen Harrington & Alan Sampson (Singles); Vin O'Flaherty & Ro Porter (Veterans) represented the club.

Vin O'Flaherty won the GBR Champion of Champions (Veterans).

<u>GBR State Women's 60 & Over Pairs</u>: Winners: Karen Wiener & Karen Harrington (s)

<u>BV State Championships Women's 60 & Over Pairs</u>: Runners Up (Silver): Karen Wiener & Karen Harrington (s)

<u>GBR State Women's 60 & Over Singles</u>: Winner: Corry Hooiveld

<u>GBR State Mixed Pairs</u>: Winners: Eileen Williams (with Adam Martin E/Park) (s)

Lou Crameri Medal (most consistent Saturday Pennant bowler) winner: Gordon Stevenson

Most Valuable Player (MVP) Saturday Pennant:Division 1: Daryl KitchinDivision 2: Wally WienerDivision 4: Con PapastergiouDivision 6: Gill PritchardDivision 7: Tony GallDivision 8: Eric Conlon

Most Valuable Player (MVP) Midweek Pennant:Division 1: Karen HarringtonDivision 3: Michael WakeDivision 4: Angela UebergangDivision 6: Bernie ConveryDivision 7: Glenn Gibson

Twilight Bowls: Season 2022/23

Wednesday Night Winners:

Division 1Salty BowlsDivision 2Turfs Up

Division 3 Rollers

Thursday Night Winners:

Division 1DarlingsDivision 2Double ParkedDivision 3Golfing Stars